Discalced Carmelites of the Australia Oceania Region


The Carmelite Secular Order is made up of local communities. The local community is a visible sign of the Church and consists of people who have made a commitment to the Carmelite Order and to each other. Each community is governed by an elected Council consisting of the President, three Councillors and the Director of Formation. The community meets monthly for prayer, fellowship, formation and to conduct the business of the community. Each community also holds reflection days or at least one retreat each year.

In this region, there are six OCDS communities in Australia, one in Samoa, one in Tonga and three in New Zealand:

  • Brisbane, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Community
        • Meets on the 3rd Sunday of the month
        • Reflection day on the 5th Sunday
        • Annual 3 day Retreat usually in May
  • Sydney, Ashfield, Mary Immaculate Community
        • Meets on the 3rd Sunday of the month
        • Annual 7 day Retreat usually in September
  • Sydney, Varroville, St Elijah Community
        • Meets on the 1st Sunday of the month
        • Annual 3 day Retreat usually in May
  • Melbourne, St John of the Cross Community
        • Meets on the 4th Sunday of the month
  • Launceston, Mary Mother of Divine Grace Group
        • Meets on the 2nd Sunday of the month
  • Townville Teresian Group
  • Samoa, Apia Group
  • Tonga Group
  • NZ Auckland Holy Family Community
  • NZ Christchurch Peace of Christ Community
  • NZ Wellington St Joseph’s Community


Each community can be contacted through the National President.